I was blessed, while rooting through old LDV posts yesterday in search of material with which to placate a disgruntled Voter (“Why didn’t the Liberal Democrats tell ME there was going to be a recession? You could have put ads in the newspapers!”), to come across this post from October 2006.

Its lesser charms consist of a picture of George “Absent” Osborne disporting himself in song on the Tory front bench. Ah, carefree times before we knew there was going to be a recession! Well, er, actually we did, in fact Sir Ming Campbell had highlighted the problem of colossal consumer debt and how it had the potential to lead to a disastrous crunch in March of that year. But you keep singin’, George.

Anyway, the real gold lies in the comments, in the form of this fabulous Chicago take-off by the great Will Howells:

I don’t care about new policies
Climate change, celebrities
Don’t mean a thing
All I care about is Dave
That’s what I’m here for

I don’t care for building railway tracks
CO2, income tax
Don’t mean a thing
All I care about is Dave
(All he cares about is Dave)

What to do:
Vote blue, get blue
Please just say “I’ll vote for you”
Make me heir to Tony Blair
But please don’t mention I’m a millionaire

I don’t care about us taxing less
Primary schools, the NHS
No, no, not me
All I care about is Dave
(All he cares about is Dave)

Show me good opinion polls
Show me that I’m on a roll
And when the papers big up DC
Forget elections, that’s enough for me
I would never cycle very far
With my workshoes coming in my car
No, no, not me
All I care about is
Getting myself in to Number Ten
Though I’ve no idea what I would do then

All I care about is Dave!

Respeck.

