Headphones in, press play and read on.

This is what I’ve been waiting to hear:

The Liberal Democrats will fight the next general election with a pledge to cut income tax bills by £700 for people on low and middle incomes.

The party will promise to raise the income tax personal allowance to £10,000 by closing tax loopholes exploited by big businesses and the wealthy.

The internet is positively stuffed with my repeated opinion, in threads, on message boards, and here, that this is by far the most important and liberal step any liberal party wishing to reform the  tax system could take. I have also said that the first party to realise the need to do this, whoever it is, will reap a large and just reward. Let’s see if I’m right (and let’s see if Labour don’t follow suit on Wednesday).

Note: This is not the tightest and most beautifully arranged recording of the Hallelujah chorus I have ever listened to. I chose it because of the fabulous your-muzzer-was-a-’amster accents and because, rather like us, the Saint Severin Choir at Church Saint Jean-Baptiste de Grenelle in Paris may not be the most co-ordinated lot, but by god, they’re enthusiastic.

